Submitted app screenshots locked
Apple has announced that the screenshots for submitted apps will be locked after the particular app is approved.
To explain a bit – until now, a developer could at any time change at will the screenshots for an app. The new rules however mean that now the screenshots for an app cannot be changed once approved, until an update for this app is submitted (and approved) again.
From Apple they’ve explained that this is an attempt to trick scammers, who’d trick users into buying fake apps, usually games, by stealing screenshots from popular apps and making the user think they are downloading the legitimate app. A tricky game, isn’t it?!
Usually such fake apps are removed quickly once reported, and customers are normally refunded. Yet, with the new rules, extra measures are secured to save customers a lot of frustration as well as to also help protect legit developers’ intellectual property.